My 2015 Top Ten Wrap Up!

Love Of Afrobeats Logo (Final)-01

My Annual Wrap Up for 2015 is here!

 If I am going to be completely honest with you all 2015 was a poor year in Afrobeats (For me). I just felt like the music was not as good as it could have been, don’t get me wrong there have been some very good tracks this year but they came out in the midst of a lot of not so good tracks. I must admit that towards the end of the year (like every year) it began to pick up again but nothing throughout the year really excited me (Minus the Ojuelegba remix). Afrobeats has become dare I say stagnant? Anyway! All moaning aside I still have tracks that I really enjoyed this year so without further ado in no particular order, here are my favourite tracks of 2015.

Mr Eazi ft Efya – Skin Tight

This year has definitely been Mr Eazi’s year with not one but two hit tracks! After first hitting the scene with Pipi Dance (in 2012/2013) he has managed to really introduce himself this year as an artist with hit song Bankulize and the follow up smash Skin Tight if there is any artist I am looking forward to hearing from in 2016 it is Mr Eazi. He has won my interest! P.S How nice is the location of this video? I love the fact that Ghanaians are starting to realise the importance of tourism and how they can use good locations within Ghana for their videos. The video was directed by Nana Asiehene and was shot at the Zaina Lodge, in Mole Northern Ghana. 

Tekno – Duro

This is one of maybe four songs that I have consistently repeated throughout the whole year that I love! Triple MG’s Tekno is actually one of the few artists that I get excited about when I hear new music. Last year he gave us the catchy single Dance and this year he has blessed us with the hit that is Duro. I just love this song and can’t wait to see what he gives us in 2016.

Stonebwoy – Higher  

Stonebwoy is one of the hardest working artists to come out of Ghana and he was rewarded this year with a BET Award for Best International Act. Earlier this year he released Higher and the video dropped on Christmas Day (Directed by Lex MacCarthy) and is currently one of the tracks killing it in Ghana.

Burna Boy – Soke

To be honest this track needs no explanation Burna Boy came hard earlier this year with the sultry single Soke. Now I am not Nigerian and I do not understand Yoruba but from the translations I have been told the lyrics are quite saucy! Ok Burna.. I see you.

R2Bees – Makoma

You all know how much I love R2Bees and this year they continued their string of hits with Makoma and Concert Party sticking with their new found recipe of classic Hi-Life sounds and productions. Here’s to hoping 2016 brings a new album! I am here for just about anything R2Bees offer to me but you guys already know I am openly biased towards them.

Leriq ft Wizkid – Say You Love Me

Leriq continued his string of hits this year with the sexy Wizkid assisted single Say You Love Me and also the Wande Coal assisted smash Wish List (Where is the video for this!) off his album The Lost Sounds that was released earlier this year. Let’s hope this continues into 2016. 

Bisa Kdei – Mansa

Now that it has fully sunk in with all Ghanaians that Castro may actually not be returning from the underworld, Ghana has to look to a new hit maker and the strongest contender in that lane right now is the Azonto Ghost hit maker Bisa Kdei. Bisa had all the Ghanaian hall parties grooving with both Mansa and Brother Brother, let’s hope we have more feel good hi-life singles from Bisa Kdei in 2016

Masterkraft ft Flavour & Sarkodie – Finally

Nigerian producer Masterkraft rounded off the year nicely with this hit Finally featuring Flavour N’abania and Sarkodie. Everything about this song makes me happy, the track, the visuals and the three ladies dancing on the sand after Sarkodie’s verse (lol). It would be great to see more collaborations between African acts across the continent especially Ghana and Nigeria, I feel as though we don’t get enough of them and a lot of the time they seem to work well. 

M.anifest – Forget Them

Personally I think this song was criminally underrated but then again Manifest does not make your typical Afrobeats Music so it is understandable why the song was not as big as I personally think it should have been this year.

Wizkid x Drake x Skepta – Ojulegba (Remix)

Last but not the least! Notably the biggest collaboration to happen this year (and can we say in Afrobeats so far?) Drake and Skepta jumped on one of the biggest tracks of 2014/15 opening Afrobeats to a whole new crowd. In turn we started to see such artists like Swiss Beats, Alicia Keys and Kylie Jenner grooving to the track across social media. To top it all off Wiz and Skepta performed the track live in Lagos together on Skepta’s recent trip to Nigeria.  Sweeeet

So those are my top ten tracks of 2015! I could of added maybe one or two more (Lil Kesh – Efejoku and Wande Coal ft Patoranking – My Women to name a few) but in all honesty aside from these 12 tracks or so I haven’t liked much else this year. Usually it’s hard for me to narrow it down but not this year. If there ever was a time for Afrobeats to break into the mainstream in the UK (Reggie and Bollie anyone? lol)  it is now so here is to hoping that 2016 brings banger after banger (Please! I beg oohh)!

PEACE!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “My 2015 Top Ten Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

